Nominations are now open for the 2011 United Nations Association of Australia (UNAA) World Environment Day Awards. Individuals, organisations and businesses working for sustainability and the environment in their homes, schools and workplaces are encouraged to apply.


The Awards are held each year in celebration of United Nations World Environment Day (June 5) and this year also in recognition of the 2011 International Year of Forests.

The 13 Award Categories for the 2011 UNAA World Environment Day Awards are:

  • Peter Szental Award for Sustainability Entrepreneurship
  • WSP Lincolne Scott Sustainability Leadership Award
  • Virgin Blue Business Awards
  • Department of Sustainability and Environment Biodiversity Award
  • Green Building Award
  • Excellence in Marine and Coastal Management Award
  • Excellence in Sustainable Water Management Award
  • Environmental Schools Award
  • Sustainability Education Award
  • Community Award
  • Individual Award
  • Local Government Awards
  • Media Award for Environmental Reporting

For more information on the award categories »

Nominations close Friday 6 May 2011.

See the UNAA (Victorian Division) website.

Awards Presentation Dinner

Winners of the UNAA World Environment Day Awards will be announced at the Awards Presentation Dinner to be held on Friday 3 June 2011, at the Grand Hyatt Hotel, Melbourne.

Download the invitation (PDF 2MB) or for more information »